Skip to Main Content

About SBE

What is the State Board of Elections?

The State Administrative Board of Election Laws was created in 1969 to ensure compliance with the requirements of Maryland and federal election laws by all persons involved in the election process. Thirty years later, under its new name of State Board of Elections (SBE) it continues its mission in collaboration with the County Boards of Election.

Meet the State Administrator of Elections

On September 1, 2023, Jared DeMarinis became Maryland’s State Administrator of Elections after the unanimous selection by the bipartisan 5-member State Board of Elections. Previously, he served for 18 years as the Director of Candidacy and Campaign Finance. In that position, he took a proactive approach to election administration in campaign finance making Maryland a model state for the use of new technologies by campaigns, campaign disclosure and enforcement.

Jared has served as an election observer in various countries such as Estonia, North Macedonia, and Armenia. He has been published in New York Times for a piece on texting campaign contributions, written a book on the history of the Electoral College in Maryland and presented at national conferences on important election issues including deep fakes, regulating online campaign ads, and enforcement of campaign finance laws.

Currently, he understands the number one external challenge facing the elections and election administration today is dis- or misinformation. He and the staff at the State Board are the trusted source for electoral information and actively work to combat its spread.

Jared has a law degree from Rutgers School of Law- Newark and a bachelor’s degree from Villanova University.

Board Members

The State Board of Elections is made up of five members who serve four-year terms and represent both principal political parties — three of the majority and two of the minority party. The members are appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate of Maryland.

The current board members are:

  • Michael G. Summers, Chairman
  • Victoria Jackson-Stanley
  • Diane Butler
  • Jim Shalleck
  • Yaakov "Jake" Weissmann

Bylaws of the State Board

These bylaws, adopted by the members of the Maryland State Board of Elections, provide the rules of governance for the board during the conduct of all duties assigned under State and federal laws and regulations. Further, these bylaws set a standard of personal conduct for members of the board requiring them to conduct themselves in accordance with high ethical standards in order to ensure the public that members are independent of partisan pressures and conflicting interests.

Contact Information

Should you need to get in touch with the State Board of Elections, visit our contact page. If you're planning on coming to our office, follow those directions.
Alternatively, you may want to contact your county election office which address, phone and fax numbers, website and e-mail address you will find on this separate County Boards of Election page.